About the IRM


Lalanath de Silva, Head of the IRM

Dr Lalanath de Silva is the Head of GCF's Independent Redress Mechanism. He has extensive experience in legal affairs, with more than 30 years of service as a practicing lawyer. In Sri Lanka, he supported the Ministry of Environment as a legal consultant, and was a member of his country's Law Commission. Lalanath previously worked at the Environmental Claims Unit of the UN Compensation Commission in Geneva, and served as Director of the Environmental Democracy Practice at the World Resources Institute (WRI) in Washington DC. As a member of the Compliance Review Panel of the Asian Development Bank (ADB), he led the review of multiple compliance cases. Lalanath has a PhD from the University of Sydney, a Master of Laws from the University of Washington, and graduated from the Sri Lanka Law College as an Attorney-at-Law.

Paco Gimenez-Salinas, Compliance and Dispute Resolution Specialist

Paco Gimenez-Salinas, born in Spain, is a lawyer by profession specialised in alternative dispute resolution with a focus in mediation. He has participated in cases handled by the Compliance Advisory Ombudsman (IFC) as an external facilitator, as well as in cases managed by the Independent Consultation and Investigation Mechanism (IADB) in the role of its consultation phase coordinator. In México, he spent several years working in the field of community mediation. Amongst other experiences, he has participated in the design and facilitation of several major multi-party dialogues around issues such as air pollution reduction strategies, the impacts of dams and windmill fields, the strengthening of conflict resolution systems of land tenure related conflicts, etc. Mr. Gimenez-Salinas has undertaken post-graduate studies in the fields of conflict resolution at the University of Barcelona, political analysis at the Mexican University CIDE and community-company mediation at the University of Cape Town.

Preksha Krishna Kumar, Registrar and Case Officer 

Preksha Krishna Kumar is a researcher and communications specialist, with wide-ranging experience relating to accountability and redress mechanisms. She previously worked for an international human rights advocacy organization based in New York, supporting dozens of frontline communities in their efforts to access information and redress.  Over the course of her career, Preksha has been immersed in the policies, practices and impacts of development finance institutions – working with diverse stakeholders in countries such as India, Colombia, Malawi and Kenya. A data nerd, Preksha supported the design and creation of a civil society-led database of 19000+ development projects, breaking down complex financial flows and investments and facilitating access to early, verifiable and actionable data. Preksha comes to the IRM with enthusiasm and a commitment to building and maintaining fair, effective and transparent processes for accessing remedy and reconsideration. Preksha holds a B.A. from Sarah Lawrence College, New York, with a focus on Development Economics and Spanish Literature.

Peter Carlson, Communications Associate 

Peter is IRM’s Communication Associate with over 8 years of communications experience in education and international development. Prior to joining the IRM, Peter was part of the communications team at the Global Partnership for Education, focusing on digital campaigns and media and the OECD, managing communications for the Partnership in Statistics for Development in the 21st Century (PARIS21) and the Environment Directorate. He has also worked at HEC Paris business school, UNESCO and African Artists for Development. Peter holds Bachelor’s degrees in Marketing and French from Ohio State University and a Master’s degree in International Affairs from Sciences Po Paris.

Sue Kyung Hwang, Executive Assistant

Observing a sudden transition of her countryside hometown in Ulsan, South Korea, to a highly industrialized one, Sue Kyung grew up wanting to study the environmental consequences of rapidly sprawling cities in developing countries. After studying International Affairs and Environmental Studies at the George Washington University, she pursued her master’s degree in Water Cooperation and Diplomacy, a joint programme held at University for Peace (Costa Rica), IHE Delft Institute for Water Education (Netherlands), and Oregon State University (U.S.), to learn how countries manage water resources that are not naturally bound by artificial borders. Her past work experiences involve preparing a database of livestock carbon emissions and using it to educate the public for climate action in a local community in Costa Rica.

Noémie Fankhauser, Intern

Noémie Fankhauser joined the IRM team as an intern in March 2022. She is a Master's student at the University of Geneva and is currently writing her thesis on the development of environmental policies in South Korea and the evolution of ecological awareness. After studying abroad in Hong Kong and South Korea, Noémie grew interested in international studies, with a particular interest in the East Asian region. She did a Bachelor's in History and Anthropology of Religion and Japanese civilization and is currently pursuing her Master's in Asian studies. Having interned for a Civil Society Organisation on arms transfer regulation, Noémie has joined the IRM with the ambition to play a role in overcoming social and environmental issues and comprehend the essential role of independent accountability mechanisms.  

Charlene Angela Sardoma, Intern

Charlene joined the IRM team as an intern after earning her master’s degree in Global Affairs and Policy from Yonsei University. As a national of the Philippines, a country often struck by typhoons and other natural disasters, Charlene developed an interest in climate change adaptation. This has motivated her career shift from working in the advertising industry as a digital analyst, to the development sector. Before entering graduate school, Charlene gained experience liaising between international funding agencies and project affected people regarding social and environmental safeguards. She looks forward to working at the nexus of grievance redress, sustainable development, and international cooperation through her internship with the IRM. Charlene is also passionate about research on economic and environmental migration, voluntary or involuntary.

Former staff

Susana Rodriguez
Compliance and Dispute Resolution Specialist (July 2017 – July 2019)

Arian Grace Jovena
Team Assistant (August 2017 – February 2019)

Christine Reddell
Registrar and Case Officer (February 2019 – July 2021)

Former consultants

Paul Safar
Communications and Events Assistant Consultant (January – December 2020)

Former advisors

Asanga Gunawansa
(2016 – 2018)

Halina Ward
(2016 – 2018)

Former interns

  • Hajar Mountassir (Winter/Spring 2018)
  • Shamir Shehab (Winter/Fall 2018)
  • Andrea Guevera (Summer/Fall 2018)
  • Peter Boldt (Winter/Spring 2019)
  • Marta Trofimova (Winter/Spring 2019)
  • Siddhanth Prasad (Summer/Fall 2019)
  • Paul Safar (Summer/Fall 2019)
  • Sue Kyung Hwang (Winter 2020/Winter 2021)
  • Katrina Lehmann-Grube (Winter/Fall 2020)
  • Giada Giacomini (Fall/Winter 2020)
  • Anusha Kaushik (Fall/Winter 2020)
  • Amanda Bierschenk (Spring/Fall 2021)
  • Safaa Loukili Idrissi (Fall 2021/Winter 2022)